Secret Agent Under Fire by Geri Krotow

With heightened danger and lives on the line, the fourth story in the Silver Valley P.D. miniseries is thrilling plus entertaining. In previous books, a religious cult arrived in a picturesque Pennsylvania town and its members created a variety of problems for the local citizens. So far, the residents in Silver Valley have stopped any of the trouble these fanatics have tried to instigate, but their latest scheme is the most ambitious yet. With the help of an agency called Trail Hikers and a woman who is an arson expert, the once peaceful town will hopefully once again be a great place to live without constant fear. I enjoyed seeing two individuals put aside any differences for the good of others, and the unexpected romance between the couple added lots of interesting developments. SECRET AGENT UNDER FIRE has perilous circumstances interwoven with emotional issues, and Geri Krotow builds the suspense with each new predicament.

When Abigail Redland was ready to leave the FBI, she was not anticipating a new career with the Trail Hikers, a covert government agency. The organization works out of Silver Valley, Pennsylvania, and she is now using her skills as an arson investigator to hopefully discover who is behind the town’s many unsolved fires over the past three months. Unfortunately, it means Abi must come in contact with the local fire chief, and though she and Keith Paruso want the suspect caught, both have their own opinions about how to make it happen.

While keeping the town and its citizens safe is most important to Keith, he also has a personal reason for stopping the arsonist as he still feels the repercussions from a false accusation. When Abi is told to work with the fire chief and combine their information, she is not happy but will do what must be done to bring the criminal to justice. Even if it means being around a man to whom she is attracted. But when the fires head in a deadlier direction, Keith and Abi know time is not on their side.

Relationships can be complicated, and when there are secrets being kept, things often get even more difficult for the two people involved. Abi is under obligation to not tell Keith about her being a Trail Hiker, and she is reluctant to reveal her actual feelings for him, too. Though they are most concerned about uncovering those responsible for setting the fires and always remain dedicated to the task, they cannot keep desire for the other from entering their thoughts from time to time. It was enjoyable watching Keith and Abi together, as they might bicker over a detail or show admiration for the other’s intelligence. There were also some quick-witted comments expressed, and their teasing had me smiling.

Several past characters are featured throughout the book, and it was great seeing what was now going on in their lives. Geri Krotow also includes many specific facts about the story’s setting, making scenes more realistic. The cult now known as New Thought has caused much havoc in Silver Valley for months, and the events that take place in SECRET AGENT UNDER FIRE have the threats intensifying. I never knew what would happen next or who would be affected, and I was kept guessing until the very end.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Silver Valley P.D.

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  April 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/llm9r74

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://gerikrotow.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars

Angel Unleashed by Linda Thomas-Sundstrom

The originality in ANGEL UNLEASHED makes every scene absolutely spellbinding. From the unique characters and their traits to the cleverly conceived plot and its brilliant execution, the story took me on a riveting journey of the unexpected. I was completely engrossed in this paranormal book from the very start, and I only became more fascinated as each new detail was revealed. Linda Thomas-Sundstrom brought an extraordinary world to life when she created the Blood Knights miniseries, and her latest release is the most amazing yet.

An expert at tracking monsters, Rhys de Troyes has competently carried out his specific duty for centuries. As one of the Blood Knights, he uses the skills given to him during a long-ago ceremony to keep humans safe from anyone with supernatural abilities that intends harm. But one night, an unknown plus very powerful being arrives in London, and Rhys is determined to learn its background plus purpose. Shocked to discover the creature is female, he continues his concealed observation, waiting on the right moment to confront her and put a stop to anything devious.

When Avery Arcadia Quinn came to London, she had a particular reason. Running into one of the Blood Knights was certainly not on her agenda, and after coming in contact with Rhys, she knows not disclosing full knowledge of her undertaking along with the reasons behind it to him are imperative or he may interfere. Avery is a grounded angel, because her wings were taken from her to give the Knights some of their immortal capabilities and she wants them back. While she will not stop until her objective is complete, Rhys is just as single-minded about uncovering information related to the secretive being.

There are so many ground-breaking circumstances in ANGEL UNLEASHED, and I found myself in complete wonder time and again. Linda Thomas-Sundstrom has always been able to come up with inventive ideas to describe her characters, and Rhys plus Avery are certainly distinctive individuals. He may be one of the Blood Knights, but he also has his own capabilities and personality. I loved how he is a protector for those whom do not even know he exists, yet he wants no thanks for doing his duty. Rhys may be an immortal with much strength, but his sympathetic heart makes him compassionate to the needs of others. Poor Avery has been through so much, and the way in which she suffered really made me angry. But she can still find humor in unlikely places, and I had a great time watching her and Rhys banter back and forth. The passion they feel for the other is sky-high, leading to explosively heated encounters.

Keeping an ancient religious relic safe is part of the Blood Knights oath, and the author makes their ongoing task very believable. Even if the prior books in the miniseries have not been read, their mission is still clear and the reader does not feel lost at all. There is also a creative concept on how vampires were first formed, and their history is very interesting. One species of supernatural beings that Linda Thomas-Sundstrom does so well is werewolves, and I was delighted when they made appearances throughout the story. I am already eager to see what the author dreams up next.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Blood Knights

Publisher:  Harlequin Nocturne

Releases:  April 1, 2017

Purchase:   http://tinyurl.com/mngh53p

Genre:  Paranormal

Author website:  http://www.lindathomas-sundstrom.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Code of Honor by Alexa Aston

In the latest Knights of Honor story, two people find their love being tested over and over again when unforeseen circumstances keep developing. One man must prove whether he is worthy to be a knight, while a situation forces a woman to follow undesired obligations and not her heart. Alexa Aston has combined meticulously researched details with a heartfelt historical romance to create a story that will long be remembered. Medieval books have been a favorite for many years, and Ms. Aston delivers exactly what I like in this genre. CODE OF HONOR has a multitude of emotional issues, a delightful cast of characters, and constant realism.

Although his father ignored him all through childhood, the mother of Michael Devereux showed him much affection. But when the Earl of Sandbourne was going to get rid of his wife by forcing her to live in a convent, the boy left his unhappy home and vowed to stay away until his father was dead and the title became his. Days and then years go by, and Michael has changed from an awkward child to a respected knight. He has sworn fidelity to those living at Kinwick Castle, and his latest task is to make certain those whom he serves are safely guarded while traveling to a wedding.

With her marriage only a few days away, Lady Elysande Le Cler is resigned to becoming the wife of a man whom she barely knows. Yet it is the path set for her, and she only hopes things will not be as bad as she fears. When relatives began arriving for the celebration, one of the knights escorting her uncle and family ends up assisting her when a horse gives birth. Michael feels a deep attraction to Elysande, but she is already promised to another and neither would ever go against their pledges. But staying away from the other is the hardest thing this couple has ever done.

The third book in the Knights of Honor series is filled with constant ups and downs, many of which caught me by surprise. Though Michael and Elysande are drawn to each other, a number of factors keep them from ever thinking they have a future together. Even when it appears they just might have a chance of actually being a couple, a new problem makes their having a relationship seem hopeless once more. I went through so many emotions while reading CODE OF HONOR, from elation to despair, and the author had me feeling each sentiment to the fullest. Alexa Aston makes her characters very realistic, and their reactions are always true-to-life. She also accurately shows life in medieval times, and I was moved by how women plus children were often treated. CODE OF HONOR is adventuresome at times and continuously emotional.

When I think of a hero, Michael is a perfect example. His younger days were packed with misery, but he did not let it keep him from his goal of becoming a well-regarded knight. Learning about all his ordeals growing up and how he overcame them only added to his hero status. Elysande is also a compelling character, as she put her duties first yet let me know how much it pained her. Their love is truly powerful, and I totally enjoyed their daunting journey. Though this story could be read first, the two prior books in the series are not to be missed and getting to catch up with their characters was enjoyable.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Knights of Honor – Book 3

Publisher:  Dragonblade Publishing, Inc.

Releases:  March 28, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/kvkypmo

Genre:  Historical

Author website:  https://alexaaston.wordpress.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

A Perfect Gentleman by Candace Camp

From the very start of A PERFECT GENTLEMAN, I was immediately drawn into the fascinating circumstances taking place, and my interest never waned during any scenes that followed. Candace Camp always manages to invent original situations for her characters to face, and events in her latest book are absolutely riveting. There is intrigue, misunderstandings, humor, and even some suspense, and each new development kept me from finding a stopping point. While I have enjoyed numerous books from Ms. Camp in the past, her latest is definitely one of her best. A PERFECT GENTLEMAN has every ingredient needed to make it an entertaining historical read.

When Abigail Price married Graeme Parr, she had hoped her life would finally be much better. After living with a father who controlled every aspect of her daily existence, she had thought becoming the Earl of Montclair’s wife would lead to more pleasant days. Though Abigail was aware her English husband did not love her, as they hardly knew each other, she had dreams of them one day having a happy marriage. But it quickly becomes apparent Graeme only wed the American because of her wealth that his family needed and does not plan on being a real husband to her, so she swiftly leaves him and goes back home.

After not having any contact with his wife for ten years, for which he is grateful, Graeme is very wary when she suddenly shows up in London. Their initial meeting gives him no clue as to why she has returned, yet he does realize Abigail has changed from quietly timid to a stunning woman and superb conversationalist. At first, he is very concerned about her causing a scandal that would affect his family’s name, but he soon also feels unexpectedly drawn to his wife who is practically a stranger.

There are so many things that I liked about A PERFECT GENTLEMAN. Regardless of what part they played, characters are convincing and very lifelike. I must say Graeme was not exactly endearing himself to me at first, but his later actions showed his heart was in the right place, even when his mind kept the words from being spoken. At least he was willing to talk over his troubles with others, and possibly see the error of ways. Abigail is a heroine for whom I was rooting for at all times, as she is such a wonderful person but has had so much go wrong for her. I thoroughly delighted in her quick wit, plus how she never held back from speaking her thoughts. A number of discussions in the story left Graeme and Abigail confused because of their beliefs, and I frequently became anxious because I wondered how either of them would react. There are several passionate encounters between the couple, and Abigail’s honest responses were truly heartfelt.

While the couple is often tested as they suffer through more than a few trials during their marriage, they do also experience plenty of good times. I really enjoyed their intelligent banter with each other and even some of their relatives, especially Graeme’s cousin, James, whose book is next. There are also unknowns that need answers, and the path to finding solutions is occasionally frightening. Candace Camp has created a compelling romantic story, as A PERFECT GENTLEMAN is constantly engaging.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Pocket

Releases:  March 28, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/n6pqlqg

Genre:  Historical

Author website:  www.candace-camp.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Her Baby, His Love by Lynne Marshall

Situations filled with a wide variety of circumstances can be found all throughout HER BABY, HIS LOVE, where realism makes every single moment believable. There are instances that made me laugh, while other happenings tugged at my heart. The main couple in the story may be unalike in many ways, yet they both feel rather alone and would secretly like to be with someone special. Lynne Marshall takes two individuals on a journey packed with highs and lows, and I was deeply touched by each of the conceivable events.

Even though Taylor Clark had only been dating her boyfriend for two months, their relationship was one which she thought might finally end up lasting. Yet he turned out to be just another liar when she learns he is marrying someone else. Feeling hurt and dejected, Taylor decides to put memories of the deceitful cheater behind her by moving to Montana where she has found work because of her nursing degree. Upon arriving in a quaint town named Charity, she only wants to fit in and perhaps be happy.

After too many disastrous incidents with men in her past, Taylor feels avoiding all of them is for the best. Yet she keeps interacting with one particular man living in the town, and Joe Collins leaves her flustered yet intrigued. He is attracted to her, yet the ex-con plans to keep those feelings to himself, at least for a time. But with them continuously being around each other, they grow closer. When Taylor finds out her previous relationship resulted in a pregnancy, she is stunned and certainly in need of a friend, and Joe is more than willing to be there for her.

When life’s plans do not go as expected, a person often has to make some drastic choices. Taylor has made a big mistake which causes her to move away from the painful source, and she dreams of having a great job and possibly making some good friends. Just when these two goals are being achieved, her life is once again turned upside down after discovering she is pregnant. Though Joe still seems like he will be her friend, as he knows all about needing support after some bad decisions, Taylor has lost her faith in men. I really liked how Lynne Marshall made the couple very true-to-life, as the direction in which their feelings guide them could take a bad turn or lead to much pleasure. I hurt right along with them when they mentally suffered, and I felt joy when they were truly content.

HER BABY, HIS LOVE captures the interest on every engaging page. The relationship of Joe and Taylor is not your conventional boy meets girl and then they fall in love. While they do share plenty of positive sentiments about each other, fear of becoming involved again has her leaving much unsaid, while he does not act on how he feels in order to not be pushed away. His being an ex-con is shown in ways that had me knowing exactly what type of man he really is despite his background, and I admired how he tried to make himself better as it showed great effort on his part. Ms. Marshall has created not only a compelling romance, but the story is also very entertaining with fascinating secondary characters. The Montana setting and small town charm had me enjoying the book even more.

I voluntarily reviewed the book via NetGalley, and all comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Tule Publishing

Releases:  March 27. 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/hexm5z3

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://lynnemarshall.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars

The Last Resort by R.S. Kovach

Sometimes when a person is injured, not all the problems are just physical. In THE LAST RESORT, separate incidents have changed the current lives of two people, and they think everything is being done to get their lives hopefully back in order. But often it takes some deep soul-searching before an individual can truly be happy, especially if a fear must be conquered first. There is lots of emotion in the story, and I never knew if the two main characters would react as I thought best, or if they might possibly choose a direction that could lead to heartache. R.S. Kovach explores the ups and downs of a relationship all throughout THE LAST RESORT, where numerous emotional self-discoveries are made.

After finalizing a huge deal for her investment company, Alejandra Barros is very happy. Most of her life centers on doing successful work for the financial firm, so she rarely does much relaxing. But while visiting her parents for a large family gathering, she is asked to go horseback riding. Since she has a great love for horses and even enters competitions for jumping, Ali decides it would be a good time to get in some extra practice. Regrettably, things do not go as planned, and she ends up with a broken wrist.

Though the surgery goes well, recovering from the incident will take weeks. When much of her work seems to be affected as her mind and body are not always cooperating, Ali is told to take a month off and go through rehabilitation at Pebble Creek Lodge located close to Denver. It does not take her long to realize the place where she is to recuperate is not to her liking. However, there is one person at the lodge who catches her attention, and she along with employee Hank Mathis enjoys horses. As Ali tries to make the best of the forced situation, she and Hank become friendlier. She really needs to work through some tough problems, and he just might be the one who can help if she lets him.

At first, I was not as connected to Ali as I would like. But as I watched her go through days of recovering from her injury, I came to understand her better and started to empathize more. She is someone who wants to be in control of everything in her life, and when the accident changes this fact, Ali deeply feels the loss. Being away from work and told to stay at the lodge certainly did not thrill her either, but meeting a charming cowboy gives her a challenge, something she enjoys. Although she and Hank are from two very different worlds, they surprisingly delight in interacting. They often share some quick-witted banter along with pleasurable conversations, but there are also several much more serious discussions which let me know more about their real inner feelings.

There are many secondary characters in the story that play important parts, and some of their spontaneous responses had me smiling and even laughing. The Colorado setting is vividly described, and it made me want to visit this gorgeous locale. R.S. Kovach has written a compelling romance, as THE LAST RESORT has interesting characters and entertaining scenes.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  March 20, 2017

Purchase:   http://tinyurl.com/zynqkfg

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  https://www.facebook.com/RSKovach.Author

Rating:  4 Stars

The Play by J.H. Croix

Brit Boys Sports Romance is the new series from J.H. Croix, and her trademark emotional scenes are present all throughout THE PLAY. A sports theme is skillfully interwoven into an engaging love story, which results in interesting plus very romantic scenes. There is always believability during whatever happens, and I was totally pulled into the lives of the main characters from the start. Earnest feelings and genuine responses had me wanting the British footballer and the American surgeon to not only enjoy their current time together, but to possibly discover they could actually have something much more.

Although Liam Reed was an excellent soccer player in England, a less than stellar performance during a big game cost him his contract. Now he is playing on a team in the USA located in Seattle. Unfortunately, he just suffered damage to his knee and hopes it can be successfully fixed. When he meets the doctor who will be performing his surgery, Liam is struck by Dr. Olivia Bowen’s beauty but also admires her professionalism when talking about his concerns. When she says there is a good chance she can repair the injury, he is hopeful that is career can be saved.

While Olivia appears to be totally focused on Liam because of his upcoming surgery, she is very aware of him as a man. But with trying to prove that she is a capable doctor, there is no time to think about dating or even having a social life. Yet one confession by her to the tempting soccer player makes him determined to see what there could possibly be between them. Though he wants Olivia to make him able to play for many more years, he cannot help but think about all the other ways she could improve his days and nights.

Since Liam does not like to back down when challenged, he has specific plans for Olivia, But he never counted on how emotionally involved he would feel when around her, a first for the sports superstar. She has also never been in a long-term relationship, so both are exploring new territory when it comes to being with the same person over and over again. How they each deal with their newfound feelings can be either amusing or thoughtful, and their reactions were often insightful into their individual personalities. I really like J.H. Croix’s way of letting me know exactly how her romantic couple felt at a certain time, as the book is told from alternating standpoints. Liam is outgoing and charming, while Olivia is more reserved and quiet. Yet each has a very passionate nature that cannot be restrained when they are together, leading to lots of lusty sexual encounters.

The medical aspects in the story enhance what is taking place, and having Liam be from Britain adds in much delight when he speaks, especially when he is talking with his best friend. There are many conversations between those for whom Liam and Olivia deeply care and themselves, and these discussions range from hilarious to extremely serious. J.H. Croix makes THE PLAY captivating on every page.

I voluntarily reviewed a received book, and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Brit Boys Sports Romance – Book 1

Publisher:  Amazon Digital Services LLC

Releases:  March 14, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/hagrhs4

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://jhcroix.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars

Crossroads by Chantal Fernando

CROSSROADS is an emotional journey of discovering what will lead to lasting happiness and the willingness to go for it. In the sixth book of the Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club series, Chantal Fernando puts two people together for a common cause, but the desire they feel for one another is unexpected. I really like Ranger, and the premise of having him paired with a female cop is cleverly carried out with situations that are conceivable. I laughed often, felt heartache at other times, and even got a little heated when their passionate sides took over. Though Ranger has not been an official Wind Dragons member for long, I am glad he got to tell his story.

When another Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club member appeals to Ranger for his assistance, he at first plans to refuse because the task will require him to work with a cop. But after realizing the woman whom he needs to help locate is someone previously met, he feels duty-bound to accept the request. Also, Ranger is feeling rather restless since leaving his old club and joining the Wind Dragons, as he has yet to fully settle in. So at least looking for the woman will occupy his time, and maybe some evidence he finds will actually aid the search.

There is a big surprise in store for Ranger when he goes to talk with the detective about the case, as he has seen her before and was very fascinated. Johanna Chase has a personal reason for getting the woman back unharmed. Though she is not fond of bikers, she will do anything to have her cousin returned, even consent to working directly with Ranger. When a possible lead has them travelling together to check it out, they get closer. While there is definitely an undeniable pull between them, there are also too many differences for a relationship to ever last.

Since the first time Ranger was introduced in the Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club books, I have been totally intrigued with this mysterious man. While he is a loyal biker, he also hides much about himself from others and wants these facts kept hidden. He is not looking for a committed relationship, and there is no way he could ever become involved with a cop. But the more he is around Johanna because of their need to help someone else, the more he likes her. She had always thought all bikers were basically criminals, yet she quickly learns Ranger is nothing like her preconceived opinion. Watching this couple come to terms with what makes them unalike was very entertaining to me, as they use intelligence, a little alcohol, plus the advice of others. The one area where they are certainly well-matched is sex, and those moments are passionately realistic. With many of the scenes being told from each of their perspectives, I got to see how they experienced the same circumstances.

Various members of the Wind Dragons club show up from time to time, and these appealing individuals often let their personalities shine through. Faye is especially engaging in the story, along with the lively behavior of Talon, and I always had to laugh at the witty banter. Chantal Fernando has written a series about friendship and emotional issues amongst likable characters, and I have enjoyed every single story. CROSSROADS is about the captivating world of bikers, where real problems occur and solutions are believable.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Wind Dragons Motorcycle Club

Publisher:  Gallery

Releases:  March 14, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jabylg9

Genre:   Contemporary

Author website:  http://www.authorchantalfernando.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

The Enchantment of Emma Fletcher by L.D. Crichton

Two people with troubling pasts surprisingly connect when bad luck has their paths crossing. Neither is looking to be in a relationship, as they do not think the time is right. But sometimes the heart is wiser than the mind, especially when fate gives this couple the chance to explore unexpected possibilities. L.D. Crichton has written a compelling story of overcoming tragedy and moving forward. I truly experienced the wide range of emotions felt by all the characters, as all feelings are conveyed with genuineness. THE ENCHANTMENT OF EMMA FLETCHER is heartfelt and very realistic.

Emma Fletcher would rather not have returned to Stonefall. But too much has gone wrong in her life, so she is back in the town where her mother lives and she frequently visited when younger. While a devastating incident makes her long for something stable, she knows there is little chance of finding it in the place where only a few good things ever happened to her. Once she arrives and starts to settle in for a short period, people that she knew from before enter her life once more. One person keeps turning up, and Emma remembers Tristan Banks as being a good-looking guy in the town. Now she has discovered just how charming he can be, too.

The main reason Emma came to the area was to get her life back on track after being attacked, and she strives to find comfort in day-to-day activities. She also sees Tristan a lot, and he senses there is something bothering her and would really like to help if he can. As he tries to be there for her when she needs someone, they become closer yet secrets remain unspoken.

Though Tristan and Emma are still suffering the aftereffects of previous events, the way in which they deal with these happenings are very different. He tries to not think about what occurred as much anymore, while she is still consumed with fear. The author had me really feeling for these two, as the circumstances surrounding them could easily take place. Facing a past occurrence that continues to influence a person’s current life is not always without plenty of challenges, and those which Tristan and Emma must tackle are certainly demanding at times. Their anguish was very apparent on numerous occasions, and I ached right along with them. There are also some more lighthearted moments when they had fun or cleverly bantered. The couple expresses their honest feelings for one another with tender caring, and these moments came across as truly sincere. THE ENCHANTMENT OF EMMA FLETCHER is emotionally rewarding.

A secondary couple in the story is delightful, as their relationship is filled with hopeful expectation and much wit. The main four characters are all in their early to mid-twenties, and their conversations are exactly what I would expect of individuals who are this age. Viewpoints are from both Tristan and Emma, thus letting me know how they felt about the same situation. L.D. Crichton has created an interesting story about true-to-life people, and I look forward to more books from this author.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  March 13, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/j4dwhmc

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://www.ldcrichton.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

The King of Bourbon Street by Thea de Salle

The first book in the NOLA Nights series is filled with titillating scenes and a lively couple who discover much about themselves. I was frequently drawn into the sexual exploits enjoyed by Rain Barrington and Sol DuMont, where never before imagined fantasies become reality. Thea de Salle definitely heats up New Orleans when inventive lusty scenarios are carried out. But I was also riveted to the more emotional side of the story, as the inner feelings of this couple are often conveyed with much honesty. Kinky encounters make THE KING OF BOURBON STREET sensual, while plenty of earnest emotions touch the heart.

After his father died in a plane accident, Sol DuMont took over managing several of his hotels, and now even lives in a favorite that is located in New Orleans. Though he is very wealthy, not much in his life brings him joy anymore and his recent divorce has left him feeling restless. He really misses all the kinky sexual activities to which his ex-wife introduced him, but finding other willing partners just seems like too much effort. Sol hopes the coming days will eventually bring him more pleasure.

Right after she graduated from college with a master’s degree, the parents of Arianna “Rain” Barrington demand that she marry a certain man so a mutually beneficial business contract between the two families would occur. Not wanting to wed the dreadful individual, she devises a scheme that would make her an undesirable wife. Her plan works, and Rain then sneaks away to New Orleans to get away from her very angry mother. But the restful time she anticipated turns into an eye-opening experience when she meets the owner of her hotel.

From humorous quips to completely serious incidents, I was thoroughly caught up in the fascination of THE KING OF BOURBON STREET. Sol and Rain are both at turning points in their lives, and their unexpected meeting lets them explore what might make their futures much better. He is immediately intrigued with her and is only thinking about sex at first. But after talking with her, he soon wants them to be connected in bed and out of it. As Sol gets to know Rain more personally, he starts to have never before felt feelings. Though she has dated lots of men, none have affected her like the attentive and passionate hotel owner. How their thoughts and behavior change during the time they spend together is realistic, and Thea de Salle takes Sol plus Rain on a journey of sexual enlightenment as emotions become more involved.  Sex may be a huge part of their relationship, yet they also learn about trust while enjoying total gratification.

There are so many likeable secondary characters in the story, and each one holds their own when they make an appearance. Sol’s brothers and friends and even his former wife are delightful, while her relatives are a mixed bag and range from very appealing to downright nasty. There are more books to come in the series, and I am very eager to read about more steamy developments in New Orleans.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  NOLA Nights – Book 1

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  February 13, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/gu59c87

Genre:  Contemporary

Rating:  4.5 Stars