Reason to Believe by Roxanne St. Claire

The Bullet Catchers series immediately became a favorite from the very first release, and although I read the WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE anthology which included REASON TO BELIEVE several years ago, I enjoyed revisiting two likable characters that are facing much peril. Roxanne St. Claire manages to make her storylines believable at all times, and even the touch of paranormal in this book seems credible, making me consider the possibility of the events actually taking place. REASON TO BELIEVE entwines action, mysteries and passion to create a suspenseful romantic adventure.

Using her psychic capabilities lets Arianna Killian comfort people who have lost someone important to them. She even has her own show on television where a message from the deceased individual can be communicated through her to a person still living. But lately she has been experiencing visions about how someone was killed, yet has no idea whose death she is seeing. Arianna is also receiving some particularly threatening emails. Fear leads her to call The Bullet Catchers, an agency that employs very proficient bodyguards. The man sent to protect her is Chase Ryker, and he will do whatever it takes to keep her safe. But there is no way he will ever be convinced her skills are genuine.

It quickly becomes apparent the mysterious threats do pose a risk to Arianna, and learning the person’s identity from any clues is imperative.  She and Chase become close while checking out possible evidence, and he comes to understand there just might be more to the psychic than he first thought. They soon come to realize any facts Arianna obtains through her visions might get her killed.

When a Bullet Catcher agent skeptical of anything supernatural must protect a TV psychic, keeping things totally professional is not without effort, especially when doubts form. Chase is a rational thinker, where his opinions are based on what he can prove. But from the instant Arianna speaks to him, he scrambles to find a valid explanation for her comments. I delighted in seeing his scientific mind try to make sense of her remarks. Always a competent bodyguard, Chase also tries to concentrate on his duty and ignore how Arianna makes him feel. But her bubbly personality touches something deep within him. Their reactions to each other are fun to watch, as their responses to the many unforeseen situations that arose are not predictable, thus keeping my interest high. REASON TO BELIEVE is definitely entertaining.

Looking for whoever is threatening Arianna in various ways requires gathering the truth about numerous unknown details. As she and Chase investigate, surprises abound as information comes to light. Roxanne St. Claire knows how to captivate the reader and keep guesses coming. If none of The Bullet Catchers stories have ever been read, discovering this one will make you want to know more about the other elite agents working for the organization.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  The Bullet Catchers

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  January 9, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/zuoasqv

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.roxannestclaire.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

Deliver Us From Evil by Allison Brennan

Whether this is the first time reading DELIVER US FROM EVIL or the story was previously discovered when it was part of the WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE anthology, learning how the Seven Deadly Sins series began will bring much enjoyment. Allison Brennan is known for thrilling mysteries and suspenseful stories, and the paranormal aspects in this enthralling novella add even more intrigue. I have always been fascinated with the supernatural, and often wonder if something unexplained could actually have an unearthly cause. The author makes the numerous strange events in the book come across as profoundly convincing, making me ponder if this fictional account could perhaps turn out to be partly true.  DELIVER US FROM EVIL has bizarre mysteries and terrifying developments.

When the behavior of a dozen priests at a California mission becomes odd, a demonologist hopes to uncover what is causing their problem. But before Anthony Zaccardi can arrive in America and learn the possible reason, the men are all killed. There are no suspects, but he thinks those responsible maybe be demons. When he mentions his suspicions to the sheriff in charge of the case, Skye McPherson feels certain humans are to blame, not some supernatural being.

It looks as though some type of ritual took place at the mission when the men were murdered, and Anthony has a feeling it summoned a demon which needs to be quickly returned to hell or more deaths will occur. Unfortunately, Skye refuses to go along with his theory, so her investigation will only be focused on people. Anthony must have her cooperation in order to stop what will surely happen in the future, but getting Skye to have faith in his beliefs will take much persuasion.

A wide variety of characters are featured in the story, and the personality of each one brings something unique to the scenes in which they appear. From anyone with harmful intentions to a person who is only trying to do the right thing, their conduct let me know their motivations. Anthony is all about doing what he can to keep demons from reaching their goals in the human world, and his biggest battle unexpectedly takes place in a small coastal California town. When he meets Skye, he wants to keep the stubborn woman safe from the hidden danger in her community while also trying to locate a demon. She tries to solve the murders logically, and though there are countless questions, she just cannot accept the explanation Anthony gives as the truth. As these two butt heads and look for answers, their awareness of each other surprisingly grows very strong. How their relationship changes from constantly at odds to something more sexual is influenced by many outside factors, and any passion between them very intense. Both are determined individuals, and neither is willing to give up when they think they are correct about a subject. I feared for each of them on different occasions, as several incidents are dangerous with a great deal of peril.

The idea behind what is happening in the story is unsettlingly scary, and the whole concept captured my interest all the way through. Allison Brennan has written a thought-provoking paranormal story, as DELIVER US FROM EVIL is extremely compelling.

I voluntarily reviewed the book received via NetGalley, and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Seven Deadly Sins

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  January 9, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/gv2bckb

Genre:  Paranormal

Author website:  http://www.allisonbrennan.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

Redemption by Karin Tabke

When good vs. evil, there is often much uncertainty as to who will be the victor when the final confrontation plays out. If something paranormal is also tossed into the mix along with genuine emotions, then situations become even more complicated and this is the reason REDEMPTION captured my interest from the start. In this enchanting story from Karin Tabke, a man with a checkered past is given a final chance to make amends for his previous actions or pay an extremely high price. Having to protect a woman who has no idea that she is crucial in keeping malevolent immortals from gaining power is difficult enough. But since she is his former fiancée along with being unaware of her importance to the circumstances, his task is doubly challenging. REDEMPTION is attention-grabbing because of an abundance of secrets and original supernatural developments.

Though Zachary Garret is a police detective and faces danger on a regular basis, he never thought a car wreck while on duty would cause his death. But instead of ending up in hell which appeared to be his final destination, he is given the opportunity to save not only himself but the whole world. However there is a big problem, as the woman formerly his fiancée is involved and Danica Keller never wants him in her life again.

After hearing that Danica is the only person left who can save humanity but is unaware of her destiny, Zach finally agrees to try and persuade her to do what has been foretold. His choice to deceive her led to their breakup, but being around her again makes him yearn for what they had. Yet he has a responsibility to complete his mission first before letting his personal feelings control him.

Karin Tabke has a very vivid imagination, and REDEMPTION is a paranormal romance filled with fascination and spirited characters. Zach and Danica have been through a lot as a couple, and it would seem there is no way for their relationship to ever be restored as her sentiments were very clear to me on numerous occasions. Danica has been hurt by this man and knows nothing about the truth when it comes to the paranormal and her background. Yet she does not shy away when facts become known. Zach definitely made several prior decisions that he truly regrets, and what he chooses to do with a second chance to make up for at least one of them will determine the future for many.

The battle between those trying to help others and the individuals only thinking of themselves is intense at times, as neither side is willing to give in. I feared for Zach and Danica more than once, as their foes are strong. While not a long story, I still found the book to be entertaining. REDEMPTION was previously released in the anthology, WHAT YOU CAN’T SEE, and is now available as a separate eBook.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  January 9, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/z5nc8bq

Genre:  Paranormal

Author website:  http://karintabke.com/

Rating: 4 Stars

Dragon King Of Treoir by Dianna Love

There is little downtime for the Beladors and those who fight alongside them in the eighth book about these fascinating beings. Between battling enemies and facing emotional personal conflicts, the many beloved characters whom I have grown to adore find themselves in some dire predicaments that often seem hopeless. Dianna Love makes every aspect of her unique urban fantasy world believable, regardless of what is occurring. Also, if an incident contained something out-of-the-ordinary, I always felt as though the event could actually have happened in my own world just as described. If hostile supernatural forces really do exist, then I hope there is somebody like Evalle plus her numerous comrades who are always ready to protect humans from the evil kept hidden from them. DRAGON KING OF TREOIR is filled with startling twists, where unexpected turns put loyalty and vows to the test.

Though the Beladors have a reason to celebrate, a peaceful existence is not yet guaranteed. Daegan has become their ruler, and these exceptional individuals truly hope the dragon shifter will turn out to be the leader that they have long needed. Yet their group has been accused of killing several Medb which is their hated enemy, and they must quickly prove otherwise. Many of the Beladors are diligently searching for whoever is actually responsible, but so far no proof has been found. But these beings who possess a wide variety of abilities are not willing to give up easily.

Evalle and her Belador friends are beginning to realize just how much trouble they are in when every new situation brings more questions than answers. Vladimir Quinn had taken over the Maistir position of the group, but a personal problem could have terrible consequences if he makes a wrong decision. With time running out, his final choice will have to be made soon. But having to choose what is best for all involved could come at a very high price.

Several very dramatic circumstances at the start of DRAGON KING OF TREOIR could have a huge impact on the characters who have been met in the previous seven books of the Belador series. Unexpected threats and few clues make life very difficult for many of them, and there are even some sinister plots about which they know nothing. I became more and more alarmed as I learned information related to these schemes, as each one could greatly affect the characters for whom I greatly care. Evalle, Storm, Quinn and other favorites play vital roles in the story, and I was especially delighted when Tristan showed up numerous times. I definitely have a soft spot for him.

Whose side several newcomers are on is a big question until all is revealed. Some unpredicted facts stunned me, and I had no idea how a number of characters would react when they discovered the details. Dianna Love has created an extremely diverse group for her Belador series, and seeing if they can overcome challenging issues makes her stories continuously riveting. DRAGON KING OF TREOIR is particularly captivating because of never-ending danger and countless surprises. The war between different preternaturals is heating up even more, as Ms. Love pits demons, gryphons, dragons, witches, gods and humans against one another.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Belador Book 8

Publisher:  Silver Hawk Press LLC

Releases:  January 10, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jttpl93

Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Author website:  http://authordiannalove.com/home

Rating:  5 Stars

A Pawn for Malice by Cynthia Roberts

With escalating danger interwoven into a compelling romance, A PAWN FOR MALICE intrigues and kept me eager for more details. Cynthia Roberts scatters clever clues throughout the story, and I found myself continuously changing my mind as to what I thought might happen next and which person would be responsible. I always like when an author can keep my attention, and Ms. Roberts had me captivated from the interesting start of the story to its nerve-racking conclusion.

After putting a bad situation in her past and trying to make her future brighter, Jessica Wilton thinks her life is on the right track once again. She is surrounded by people who really care about her, and a new job position working in her chosen career is rewarding. Though Jessica had not considered getting involved with anyone at the moment, coming in contact with Senator Bryan Gallagher has her thoughts gradually changing. Then the unthinkable occurs when she is suddenly abducted.

Although Bryan is currently a senator in New York, he was previously a police detective and even served as a marine. With Jessica kidnapped and no concrete evidence pointing to those responsible for her being taken, he plans to use what he learned during his prior duties in order to get her back safely. The time he has spent with her makes him care deeply about her welfare, and he is determined that nothing will take her away from him. Now Bryan just has to find proof of which possible suspect on a growing list actually took Jessica and perhaps uncover a motive.

The story begins with background related to what has recently shaped the life of the Jessica, and it let me know she can be feisty and does not let someone get the best of her. I admired her spunk and cheered her on when she had a bold comeback. As she tries to make the days ahead better, I hoped her decisions would end up giving her some happiness. Her Aunt Florence is a delight, and I really enjoyed the conversations these two shared. While there are some very good people in the story, there are also several whom I despised from the instant they were met as their cruel behavior was all too apparent.

As the story progresses, Cynthia Roberts takes Jessica and Bryan on journey filled with dangerous exploits and unexpected threats. The path to them finding joy together is often treacherous, and I really liked how the more perilous scenes kept me engrossed. When their emotions became engaged during a particular situation, so did my own.  There are certainly several surprises learned along the way, and I never knew what truths would be exposed by turning the page. A PAWN FOR MALICE is entertaining because of heartfelt emotions and lots of jeopardy.

Copy received for my honest opinion

Publisher:  Self

Releases:  November 7, 2016

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/ho7ebcz

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.romanceauthorcynthiaroberts.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

Special Forces Seduction by C.J. Miller

There is no shortage of dangerous escapades in the most recent release featuring operatives employed at the West Company, a secretive group which takes on very risky missions. The main couple has been met before, and I am delighted they now have a chance to tell about their latest assignment plus how their feelings for one another are ever changing. As these two competent spies battle criminals so the innocent can be safe, their emotions are constantly engaged in conflict and future plans are uncertain. I was definitely nervous during several of the more perilous incidents, as a satisfactory outcome looked doubtful. C.J. Miller takes her romantic couple on a highly adventurous ride, one filled with plenty of jeopardy to not only their lives but also their hearts. SPECIAL FORCES SEDUCTION is equally thrilling and emotional.

After working as a spy for ten years, Alex “Hyde” Flores started to feel that she was ready to live a much different life. As a current agent with the West Company, she often goes undercover and has been in some very dangerous situations. But now the challenges she would rather face are those of an average person and to not come across countless threatening circumstances. One part of her life over the past three years which Hyde wishes could continue is her relationship with Finn Carter, who works for the same organization. Yet he has no intention of settling down or quitting his undercover commitments like she recently did.

When Finn unexpectedly shows up when her family is celebrating a special occasion, Hyde is secretly glad to see him. But when he requests her help in stopping a drug dealer, she is torn as to what decision to make. Though she had planned to never go on a new mission, Finn has a very convincing argument that changes her mind. While the two skilled spies do come up with a well-planned strategy, nothing is ever assured when ruthless lawbreakers are involved.

It does not take long for Finn and Hyde to become entangled in one precarious situation after another. While she really wanted to begin living a more typical life where no one was going to point a gun at her in the next moment, her former partner and lover has other ideas. Though he says their latest mission will be for a good cause, both know deep inside that there are also some unspoken reasons for them once again getting together. As spies, Finn and Hyde are experts at keeping secrets and not letting their feelings be known, and they do the same with each other. I had no idea how each was going to react during certain incidents, and I was frequently worried about whether their responses would be positive or bring about additional heartache.

A huge number of factors come into play as Finn and Hyde try to make several tough choices, and conclusions  related to their personal desires are sometimes just as difficult to decide as any connected to the assignment. C.J. Miller puts lots of realism into the threats Finn and Hyde encounter, and a few of the risks had me concerned about how everything would eventually turn out for the couple. SPECIAL FORCES SEDUCTION is repeatedly suspenseful from imminent danger, yet also emotional because of sincerely expressed feelings.

Copy received from author for my honest opinion

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  January 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/hfnrbes

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.cj-miller.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

Dr. Do-or-Die by Lara Lacombe

There are mounting threats in the latest Doctors in Danger story, where not only are the main characters in the book at risk but so are countless others. The plot about a group wanting to cause harm to a huge number of innocent people is all too frightening in today’s world, and Lara Lacombe bases her imaginative storyline on an actual scientific finding, thus making the book all the more realistic. As each new development took place, I became more fearful for the romantic couple and those individuals whom they wanted to save. Filled with lots of building suspense plus conflicting emotions, DR. DO-OR-DIE captivates with intrigue.

A wish to keep communicable medical disorders from spreading led to Dr. Avery Thatcher joining the Centers of Disease Control and Prevention after college. When mysterious symptoms start affecting folks working at a U.S. research base in Antarctica, she is sent to the remote area in the hope of uncovering vital information related to the illness before it possibly claims many lives. Upon arriving at the base, Avery is stunned to see that the head doctor there is Dr. Grant Jones, the man with whom she was once involved and he is just as shocked. Yet both know they must concentrate on the terrible outbreak by learning its cause, and not think about their personal worries.

As Avery and Grant work together with determined focus, neither can keep the memories of what was between them from being recalled when least expected. The source of the disease proves difficult to pinpoint, yet these two dedicated doctors plan to do everything they can to be successful. Fighting against unidentified factors as well as their feelings for one another, they know time is against them when the situation only becomes worse.

With its terrifying scenario of conceivable events, DR. DO-OR-DIE took me on a journey of chilling circumstances that I hope never happen. But with today’s knowledge and the resourcefulness of terrorists, I shiver to think about something similar in fact taking place one day. Lara Lacombe makes the incidents in the story believable, especially since any episodes are shown using the thoughts of Avery and Grant plus that of the wrongdoer. This let me get a feel for reasons behind any occurrences, regardless of who instigated them and why. I was frequently anxious because of what was happening, as the author built up the suspense of the final outcome. The Antarctic setting is vividly depicted, and I definitely got a sense of what living there would be like.

The relationship of Avery and Grant was torn apart ten years ago, but they have never completely gotten over the deep feelings they shared. While searching for the origin of the illness is their most crucial task at this time, they cannot keep from thinking about the past and how each reacted during a decisive moment in their lives. Sometimes a second chance can work out for a couple that made some mistakes, but nothing seems guaranteed for these two. So I had to keep reading in order to discover just what Avery and Grant would decide was the best course of action to make them be happy in the days ahead. A hint at the end of the story concerning the next book in the series has already grabbed my interest.

Received copy from author for my honest opinion

Series:  Doctors in Danger

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  January 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jymyhfs

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://laralacombe.blogspot.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars

Nice Guys Bite by Jennifer Estep

51dj8jodyalWhen any story connected to the Elemental Assassin series comes out, I am always grateful for the chance to discover additional details about the beloved characters associated with Gin Blanco. She may be the Spider and is a competent assassin, but she often requires some help from friends to make certain her life runs smoothly. The individual who expertly keeps things straight when it comes to fighting crime in Ashland is Silvio Sanchez, her assistant, and he takes his job very seriously. In NICE GUYS BITE, the Christmas holidays have arrived, and it is time for this finicky vampire to have some enjoyment and not think about work. But being employed by Gin can complicate his own life when least expected.

Even though it will soon be Christmas day, Silvio Sanchez thinks his responsibilities as the personal assistant of Gin Blanco should continue as normal. But when his boss says to stop working and do something fun, he knows arguing is useless. Since he has received an offer to go get coffee with a repeat customer at Gin’s BBQ restaurant, Silvio decides to see what the enticing man has on his mind.

His time spent with the college professor is going even better than he had hoped, as the two have much in common. But just as Silvio is beginning to ponder if he might be ready to learn more about his date, he becomes aware of several giants sitting nearby that appear to pose a threat. When it turns out his hunch was unfortunately correct, he will have to do some quick thinking or his time working with Gin will be over.

Not a lot has ever been divulged about Silvio since he became closely linked with Gin and her friends, so it wonderful to get some insight into his thoughts and how he would handle himself if threatened. I was surprised at some of his responses, as he is usually seen taking care of any business on his computer or phone, not getting involved in one of her risky escapades. Since the story is told from his viewpoint, I came to understand this often mysterious vampire much clearer.

The story takes place at Christmas, and seeing how Gin prepared for a huge party at her restaurant left me smiling because of her unique ideas for decorations. There are some delightful conversations between her and Silvio, and even some moments where real feelings come into play. Jennifer Estep interweaves some suspense with emotional conflicts and adds in a dash of humor to make NICE GUYS BITE constantly entertaining.

Received copy via NetGalley for my honest opinion

Series:  Elemental Assassin – Book 15.5

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  December 12, 2016

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/zv6zfvg

Genre:  Urban Fantasy

Author website:  http://www.jenniferestep.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

A Venetian Vampire by Michele Hauf

51favthm71l-_sx314_bo1204203200_An adventure starts immediately in the latest paranormal book from Michele Hauf, and the drama along with lots of unexpected humor only increases as the story unfolds. I could tell from the very beginning that the main characters were uniquely delightful, and I came to deeply care about the charming Dante D’Arcangelo plus likable Kyler Cole. No one does unique vampires better than Ms. Hauf, and this couple certainly captured my interest. Besides plenty of escapades involving a Fabergé egg and a dangerous spell, there are numerous scenes where romance is the focal point. I always get excited when this author releases a book, and A VENETIAN VAMPIRE does not disappoint.

When Dante D’Arcangelo entered the Venetian auction house, his intentions were to steal a Fabergé Imperial egg. He knows if the valuable piece does not become his, the spell it possesses could doom countless vampires including him. While working out his plan as he looks over the area where the egg is being kept until it is sold, Dante sees a woman who also appears to be casing the place for a possible theft. He fully intends for there to be only one thief that successfully ends up with the precious item, and it will not be the fascinating stranger.

Although she took a huge chance in snatching the Fabergé egg, the payoff is too good for Kyler Cole to pass up. When she seems to casually meet Dante a little later, the vampiress has no idea that he is on to her secret agenda. Seducing her in order to get closer is easy for the charismatic vampire, but obtaining the object is much trickier. Especially when a third individual is equally determined to own the coveted prize.

I have always enjoyed the distinctive heroes created by Michele Hauf, and Dante’s personality definitely puts him on my all-time favorite list. He is a tempting man who is honest and compassionate. The way in which he interacts with Kyler had me smiling often, as he is a smooth talker but also shows concern when needed. She may be a vampire now, but many of her reactions are still that of a human woman. Quite a few of their conversations are filled with wit, and I could not help but chuckle at their candid responses. But much of the relationship between Dante and Kyler is often emotional, as doubts lead to confusion over how each are currently feeling. Neither is looking for anything lasting, and they do have one disagreement after another. Yet these disputes do not keep some very heated sexual encounters from taking place.

The reason for Dante and Kyler ever meeting is intriguing, as the secretive details concocted by Michele Hauf about a Fabergé egg are very attention-grabbing. There are several paranormal aspects connected to the mystery surrounding the piece, and I was captivated by the clever imaginings of the author. Ms. Hauf is known for being particularly original when it comes to her characters and their personal stories, and A VENETIAN VAMPIRE is truly innovative. From vampire and werewolf traits to possible reasons for actual events in history, I wanted to believe each fact was true. A few characters from past books are mentioned, and one shadowy individual plays a big part in the story. I really hope King is featured again, and perhaps gets his own future book.

Received book from author for my honest opinion

Publisher:   Harlequin Nocturne

Releases:  December 20, 2016

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/hqhdh2b

Genre:   Paranormal

Author website:  http://www.michelehauf.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Christmas Nights by J.H. Croix

51-11gyw5hlThe Diamond Creek, Alaska series is now up to six books, and the latest story is overflowing with a range of emotions. There are certainly lots of conflicted feelings between a man and woman as they try to figure out what their growing relationship means. They must decide if they just want to have some fun going out with each other, or do they actually wish for something much more lasting. J.H. Croix never makes things simple for her romantic couples, and the hurdles this pair must face will not be without some difficult choices. CHRISTMAS NIGHTS has captivating developments and particularly engaging characters.

After Janie Stevens fell into the very cold ocean water, her fear of not making it out alive almost came true. Luckily for her, Travis Wilkes was nearby and managed to get her to safety. As a life-long resident of Diamond Creek, Alaska, she knows water in the bay can be deadly, so she is grateful to the man who rescued her. Though Janie is not actually acquainted with Travis, he is known in the community as someone who is always willing to assist others in need, and he is even an emergency responder plus firefighter. When he later stops by the hospital to check on her condition, she is shocked by how much his presence affects her.

There have been countless individuals whom Travis has helped over the years, but none have brought out his protective instincts and a keen awareness like Janie. While he has never wanted to get close to a woman before, he feels compelled to at least put forth an effort for the first time because she consumes his thoughts. Although dating is not something that Janie feels should be an important part of her life, Travis is not going to give up without giving it his best shot.

While CHRISTMAS NIGHTS is part of a series, it easily stands alone. There are some characters in the book that have been met previously, but their appearance in the sixth story only enhances the plot and enough facts are given for the reader to not feel lost. I was instantly drawn to Janie and Travis, as these two spirited individuals grabbed my interest and made me want them to hopefully be even happier by getting together. Neither is looking to settle down with one person, and she is especially reluctant to go out with a man because of her distressing history. A past situation makes her mistrustful of men, and it has kept her from having a completely fulfilling existence. While she is content with her current lifestyle, being with Travis makes her wonder about things she never thought she wanted.

Travis is such a wonderful man in every way. He is courageous, thoughtful and definitely passionate when it counts. He gets much pleasure out of helping any person, but from the instant he comes in contact with Janie, he is never the same afterward. I had to grin at some of his inner thoughts, as they are spot-on for someone who is surprised by their unexpected feelings. Janie also has some moments of awakening, as she has never been in this position either. J.H. Croix gives these two very realistic lives, where their reactions and comments are truly lifelike. The setting in Alaska is very colorful, and I enjoyed getting to experience many various aspects of this remarkable state from the author’s descriptions. Also, the story taking place during the holidays is an added bonus.

I received a free copy of this book and gave my honest opinion in the review.

Series:  Diamond Creek, Alaska – Book 6

Publisher:  Amazon Digital Services LLC

Releases:  December 8, 2016

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/zna2ay7

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://jhcroix.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars