A Lady’s Code of Misconduct by Meredith Duran

The Rules for the Reckless series has contained books that always have inventive storylines, and A LADY’S CODE OF MISCONDUCT is definitely a shining example of originality. A very imaginative first chapter left me almost breathless because of how much I felt pulled into the life of a particular character. Meredith Duran managed to also grab my attention during every following scene by creating a totally intriguing premise. From political concerns affecting English citizens in the 1860’s to problems two individuals must face on their own, there is never a moment when I was not eagerly reading to see what could possibly happen next. Ms. Duran has amazed me in the past with her unique plots, and I must say that her latest Rules for the Reckless story is truly remarkable.

Even though an aunt and uncle took in Jane Mason after her parents died, these relatives were actually only interested in her large inheritance. While living in their home brings her no pleasure, news of a forced wedding is more than she can tolerate. Getting away from the estate has Jane devising a plan which will help gain control of her life. But problems cause the plot to fail, and the only person around to offer assistance is Crispin Burke. He is a political ally of her uncle, and Jane does not trust him at all.

When Crispin comes up with a way to aid Jane while also getting something for himself in return, she comprehends this is her only choice and agrees to his terms. His main reason for assisting the downtrodden woman is to further advance his own political career, but admiration for her spunk is a little extra motivation. Just when Jane is about to lose all hope of her wishes being granted, an incident involving Crispin gives her an opportunity to follow an unexpected path. Then the two are thrust into a world full of secrets and treachery.

If a relationship is based on lies, often it cannot last because guilt will tear away the foundation. With so many truths left unsaid between Jane and Crispin, either because of unintentional deceit or buried memories, I felt it would take a miracle for them to ever form a lasting bond. New facts become known to them from time to time, and I nervously waited to see how the couple would react when the information was learned. Before Crispin lives through a tragic event, his choices were all about helping himself. But afterward, his altered behavior makes him a changed man. While I did not completely despise him at the start of the story, I cannot say that I really liked him either. Jane had a rough life after the death of her parents, and her cunning strategies for making a better life caused much respect. My heart broke for this couple more than once, as Ms. Duran gave them realistic complications to overcome. A LADY’S CODE OF MISCONDUCT is overflowing with emotions that are heartfelt plus exceedingly profound.

There is much political unrest in the story, and the author let me get a sense of how people saw the same situation differently. Arguments are passionate, and responses are sincerely candid. I experienced the feelings, hopes, and dreams of numerous individuals, and I came to intimately know what stirred these people to action. Meredith Duran has written a spellbinding novel where mysteries, romance, and sharp wit are cleverly entwined.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Rules for the Reckless – Book 5

Publisher:  Pocket

Releases:  February 28, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jf79lks

Genre:  Historical

Author website:  http://meredithduran.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Baby Surprise for the Doctor Prince by Robin Gianna

A heartfelt romance is expertly interwoven with medical emergencies in the latest story from talented Robin Gianna, where emotions are frequently conflicted and lives are forever changed. Two people who enjoy helping others find themselves experiencing unanticipated desire for each other. One of them might be willing to see if they can actually be in a relationship, but the other is too fearful and will not take a chance. As this couple tries to keep anything from affecting their ability to work together, genuine feelings for each other continues to grow stronger. I never knew for certain how these main characters would react, but it was always with frank responses. BABY SURPRISE FOR THE DOCTOR PRINCE entertains with one engaging scene after another.

When Aubrey Henderson went to Venice, it was to offer any needed assistance to another nurse who had just married. During the two days spent in the city, she became intimate with Prince Enzo Affini who is the brother of the bridegroom. For the next two months, Aubrey was in Rome teaching required skills to new nurses. Now she is looking forward to being back in Venice for several months and working in a clinic before returning to the United States. However, Aubrey’s joy turns to shock when she realizes Enzo is the doctor with whom she must work. Though wary of their being able to behave professionally at all times, he lets her stay on after proving she is a very capable nurse. While the couple may get closer, Enzo feels there can never be anything permanent between them. But an unexpected disclosure may alter his thinking.

Although BABY SURPRISE FOR THE DOCTOR PRINCE is the second book in the Royal Spring Babies series, it does not have to be read first as plenty of facts are cleverly provided. Aubrey loves helping others and often puts their needs ahead of her own. But Enzo lets numerous suspicions affect his opinion of her in the beginning, as he has had many women pursue him. Yet his new nurse is certainly up-front in letting him know just how wrong he is about her, and I thoroughly enjoyed watching her get this point across. Aubrey and Enzo are very convincing characters, from their conduct with each other to how they perform medical procedures. Many of their conversations are filled with quick-wit, and I loved their intelligent comebacks. The author let this couple express their desire for each other with kisses and touches that are always sincerely conveyed.  BABY SURPRISE FOR THE DOCTOR PRINCE is passionate, amusing, and constantly packed with honesty.

Past events greatly influence how Aubrey and Enzo now act, and I anxiously waited to see how many of their scenes together would play out. Robin Gianna knows how to make every moment in her story seem candidly realistic, and I truly believed the trueness of every situation as presented. From working through personal troubles to trying to fix a medical problem, any incident was always conceivable. There are also lots of activities taking place that could only happen in Venice, and I got a sense of what it would be like to visit.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the author, and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Royal Spring Babies

Publisher:  Harlequin Medical Romance

Releases:  February 21, 2017

Purchase:   http://tinyurl.com/hg7y3oj

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://www.robingianna.com/

Rating:  4.5 Stars

One Flight Stand by Kim Linwood

 

Honest emotions practically jump off the page from the very start of ONE FLIGHT STAND, and the intensity of any feelings only grows stronger with each new scene. Often a story with a Mafia theme will contain lots of violence, but Kim Linwood concentrates on the relationship of a couple who should never have connected yet did in a most personal way. What follows the first meeting between two individuals who are unaware of their backgrounds is situations filled with so much realism that I felt every character just had to actually exit. I could not read fast enough, yet truly did not want the entertaining ONE FLIGHT STAND to end.

A chance meeting at the airport in Chicago led to an amusing moment between Andrea DiFiero and Montana Caporossi. When they end up on the same flight to London, they share a sexual encounter which neither can completely forget. Life returns to normal for the pair until Andie is ordered by her Mafia father to wed a man who is part of a rival crime organization. When she realizes Montana is also involved with the same Mafia family plus is related to her future husband, her feelings are pulled in different directions. Then it is learned that their in-flight adventure had huge consequences when Andie discovers she is pregnant. Now she and Montana fear for all three of their lives, and a solution must be found to ensure their safety.

ONE FLIGHT STAND is the type of story that I immediately want to read again, because I just am not ready to let go of the very appealing main couple. The numerous compelling situations experienced by Andie and Montana are sometimes humorous but often more serious. But one thing I noticed about every single moment was the genuineness of each incident. Though these two frequently have to live by a code which ordinary people do not, they still secretly hope their dreams can one day come true.

There is plenty of hilarious dialogue in the story, and I was constantly laughing at what Andie and Montana said or was thinking. Their quick wit is spot-on at times and perfectly fit the circumstances. They also must live through an abundance of events which are demanding and could have dire costs if wrong choices are made. There is plenty of passion between these two, and many of their sexual exploits are boldly daring plus definitely steamy. I really liked many of the secondary characters, especially Evie, and hope to see more of them in an upcoming book. ONE FLIGHT STAND is emotionally rewarding and packed with the unexpected.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the author,  and all comments are my honest opinion

Series:  A Bad Boy’s Baby Romance

Publisher:   Amazon Digital Services LLC

Releases:  February 14, 2017

Purchase:   http://tinyurl.com/j8rll3k

Genre:   Contemporary

Author website:  http://kimlinwood.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Tempted by Kimberly Van Meter

While many people going on a singles cruise only want to hook up with a stranger for the few days the ship is at sea, the two main characters in this story have other aims. Harper Riley has a private reason for wanting to be with a man who can provide what she needs, and Teagan Carmichael just wants to relax after a recent harrowing ordeal. But when their paths cross, they become sidetracked from their initial intentions as the sexual pull is so strong. Kimberly Van Meter lets the conflict between these two individuals continue to build along with a powerful yearning, which causes TEMPTED to be filled with emotional clashes.

When Harper Riley booked a cruise for singles, she was looking for something more permanent than only a brief affair. She even has a specific man already picked out, and she wants to grab his interest before another woman gets a chance. Harper knows the background of the widower, and the successful businessman is definitely rich enough to make her future work out as she desires. After personally learning emotional attachment can lead to heartbreak, she keeps any of her relationships from focusing on feelings.

Though Harper had her plan all mapped out on how to reach her goal, the brief contact she had with one man on the cruise made her momentarily think about pleasure and not her objective. Sadly, the bank account of Teagan Carmichael is rather small since the charter plane company that he and his brother own is just getting started. But she has obligations, so setting her sights on someone else is necessary. Yet Teagan also has formulated his own plan, one which has Harper starring as his willing sexual partner.

The first time I met Harper, I thought her ideas about being in a relationship with a man were not the best. But as the story unfolds, I came to realize that the way in which she was brought up distorted her future opinions about men, making it difficult to change her current views. There were a few times when I so wanted her to see situations differently, as Kimberly Van Meter repeatedly does not make things easy for Harper and Teagan. He is such a wonderful hero who was met in a previous book, but his own story is totally a standalone. Teagan is compassionate and respectful, yet he is also a red-hot lover in bed. Some of their encounters are very heated with almost uncontrollable lust.

Kimberly Van Meter puts this couple through the wringer more than once along the road to lasting happiness, and several events are very challenging. TEMPTED is a constant rollercoaster of emotional experiences. Discovering whether Teagan would give up on his quest to win over Harper kept me reading, as these two can be stubborn plus each believes their reasoning should be followed. I never knew how either would react, and this fact also kept my attention throughout the book.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and all comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Harlequin Blaze

Releases:  February 21, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/zssgw8l

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://kimberlyvanmeter.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

Seeking Mr. Wrong by Natalie Charles

Several years ago, I read three very intriguing suspense stories written by Natalie Charles. So when I saw this author had penned a new book, I was definitely thrilled. Though the story is contemporary, Ms. Charles still kept my interest with her many compelling characters and the clever plot. When circumstances force a kindergarten teacher to drastically change her writing style, the possibility is high of her plans not going as desired. Toss in a sexy man who causes plenty of fantasies, and things just might get better if she can get over her fear of perhaps being hurt. Natalie Charles takes her romantic couple on a journey of self-discovery, resulting in SEEKING MR. WRONG being funny and heartfelt.

There have not been any extraordinary highpoints in Lettie Osbourne’s life, but getting married soon would hopefully turn out to be fulfilling. But the event never happens as her intended broke their engagement right before their wedding day. So it seems her two careers will have to bring her happiness. Lettie does enjoy being a kindergarten teacher, while writing books for young children is also rewarding. As the new school year starts, she plans to put her energy into being a good educator and not think about her depressing private life.

Yet not all goes as Lettie wished, as the school has a new vice principal, Eric Clayman, a man whom she does not completely trust because of a prior incident. Then she discovers her just completed book is not wanted, but writing an erotic story could be profitable. Her need for money has Lettie agreeing to see if she can create a book full of sex scenes. With her personal experience not being that kinky, she will probably have to seek out some helpful information. At least her mind is already conjuring up a few inventive encounters starring her new co-worker, and these imaginings could conceivably be turned into a story.

The first thing I noticed about SEEKING MR. WRONG was how the characters seemed like ordinary folks living in a typical town. As the story progressed, I got to know some of the individuals and what made them unique. When any goals or dreams are revealed, I came to realize what motivated many of the people in the community. Though some are vocal about their objectives, others like Lettie typically keep their wishes to themselves. She is a rule follower and always hopes for the best, but often her loyalty does not bring joy. This frequently happens in real life, and Ms. Charles had me feeling her dejection time and again.

SEEKING MR. WRONG entertains with delightfully engaging situations. The relationship of Lettie and Eric has plenty of ups and downs because of misunderstandings plus challenging obstacles. I felt their sadness when longings were beyond reach, and I rejoiced with them if an event was to their liking. The author made me care about the couple, and her way of giving their perspectives let me know how both viewed a happening. To go from writing a story for young children to creating a story packed with lusty sex is a big step for Lettie, and there are numerous moments in the story where her thoughts are truly amusing. It would be nice to revisit the town and have additional personal stories told.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher, and these comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Pocket Star

Releases:  February 13, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/hsw8jmp

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://nataliecharlesromance.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

At Close Range by Laura Griffin

When a book in the Tracers series is read, I am always amazed at how imaginatively the plots are carried out with total convincingness. Though the series is up to eleven books now, the storylines have all been packed with realistic scenarios where I fully believe every situation that crops up. Laura Griffin has created extremely alarming circumstances throughout AT CLOSE RANGE, where every single detail comes across as unnervingly plausible. From the harrowing event at the beginning of the novel to the nail-biting conclusion, there is never a second where my thoughts were not completely consumed by what was happening in the story. The romance between Scott Black and Daniele Harper is one of the most captivating that I have read in a long time, as every aspect of their relationship is truly credible and fueled by honest emotions. I hope the Tracers series never ends, as Laura Griffin can do no wrong when it comes to making fiction seem factual.

Although Daniele Harper has not worked many homicides, circumstances force this police detective to be the head investigator on a case which is very challenging from the beginning. But she will do everything possible to find whoever killed two people in a remote area of her community. Since their town is rather small, they will use a nearby forensics lab because of its vast resources. Dani already knows many employees at the Delphi Center, and she is prepared to work personally with several of them to gather information. But being around the lab’s main firearms specialist is sometimes difficult, as her feelings for Scott Black have not been entirely professional for a long time.

Various items are tested, yet nothing is discovered that helps identify a certain suspect. Scott has known Dani for years, and he has tried to keep any thoughts about his good friend’s sister from being sexual. Though each can tell there is a shared potent attraction which is begging to be explored, neither plans to act on their unspoken desire and just concentrate on the investigation. When the case takes a strange turn, Dani and Scot feel answers must be quickly uncovered or more murders might perhaps occur.

AT CLOSE RANGE is riveting because of unanticipated danger plus a highly enchanting romance. The mystery of whodunit and why only becomes more intriguing as each new fact is revealed, and some of the disclosures were definitely surprising. How the lives of Dani and Scott become entangled in the sinister scheme is cleverly accomplished with plenty of unexpected twists and turns, some which were very original. I like when something unforeseen takes place in a story, and this book is continuously filled with the unpredicted.

Scott is a man whom I would want on my side, as I know he would do anything to keep those for whom he cares safe. He has his own way of doing things, and his methods frequently clash with Dani’s approach. She is more of a rule follower, yet there are numerous instances where personal feelings want to overrule her duty. Candid reactions and sincere comments had me loving this couple from the start, and I became deeply invested in their long-term welfare. Lots of characters from prior books in the series are featured and enhance the story, but each novel stands alone and can be read out of order. Just do not miss any of the Tracers releases.

I voluntarily reviewed the book from the publisher and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  Tracers – Book 11

Publisher:  Pocket Books

Releases:  January 31, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jfky772

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.lauragriffin.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Her Alpha Marine by Karen Anders

Danger appears almost immediately in the sixth To Protect and Serve book, and threats only become more unpredictable as the story progresses. Neve Michaels is on a Coast Guard search and rescue team, so she often has to take risks to save others. But when her own family is endangered because of something she did, nothing will stop the gutsy woman from protecting them, even at much cost to her. Though she is planning to work alone, one man is not willing to let her life be jeopardized regardless of what she says. Frequently at odds when it comes to decisions, these two individuals will experience a series of events where death could occur in an instant. I worried about their safety so many times, as Karen Anders takes them on a journey packed with unanticipated peril. HER ALPHA MARINE captivates with dangerous adventures and explosive conflicts.

After being injured on a rescue mission, Coast Guard swimmer Neve Michaels is eager to get back to work. While impatiently waiting for her recovery time to be over, she receives a cryptic note and then is physically attacked. During the confrontation, Neve discovers an illegal weapons dealer called White Falcon wants her and anyone close to her to suffer. Unfortunately, her brother’s best friend, Russell “Rock” Kaczewski, knows about the incident, and the former marine is determined to make sure she is protected, even though she insists his assistance is not wanted.

When Neve learns her enemy is possibly somewhere near Panama, she decides to take care of the threat on her own, thus keeping others safe. But Rock is not going to let her prevent him from helping, even if she tries to deceive him. Both are equally unyielding when it comes to reaching their goals, especially Rock as he has strong unspoken feelings for Neve. He is also a man who does not give up easily, even when someone thinks what is being done is for the best.

There is little down time in HER ALPHA MARINE, and I quickly became caught up in the many harrowing situations that Rock and Neve had to face. From the first indication of something being wrong to the last altercation, I was concerned about their future and if they would actually have the chance for a relationship. Their time in the jungle is especially demanding, as they had to fight not only various enemies but the environment as well. A jungle setting is one of my favorite locations for a suspenseful story to take place, and this couple definitely has many issues to overcome. Karen Anders has created a very realistic locale for Rock and Neve to tackle, and I felt as though I was right there with them on numerous occasions.

The couple also had to deal with around-the-clock sexual tension, and the desire each felt for the other was only waiting for one tiny spark to ignite. Rock has hid his feelings for Neve for a long time, and he is secretly ready for a more stable life. She is all about proving herself, and a few of her earlier choices are a little misguided. Yet she does come to realize the value of teamwork, and I liked seeing her work through these inner battles. There are more books coming in the To Protect and Serve miniseries, and I could not be happier.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Series: To Protect and Serve

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  February 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jd4ca7m

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.karenanders.com/

Rating:  4 Stars

The Killer You Know by Kimberly Van Meter

Another Kelly brother gets his chance to find happiness, and this time emotional issues plus uncovering the truth are equally challenging. Silas Kelly must confront the demons that have haunted him since the day which forever changed his life, and being in frequent contact with a strong-minded reporter makes his time back home more difficult. Quinn Jackson wants to write an outstanding story and get a better job somewhere else, but clashes with the FBI agent are not making it easy to reach her goal. Toss in lots of secrets plus one shocking revelation after another, and the resulting romantic suspense story by Kimberly Van Meter is very riveting. I was certainly caught up in each new disclosure and was eager for more. THE KILLER YOU KNOW is constantly surprising with unexpected developments.

The brother of Silas Kelly was murdered many years ago, and he has never completely gotten over the tragedy as the killer was never caught. Now a FBI agent who specializes in child abductions, his interest is drawn to a case in his hometown when a teenager is found dead. Upon hearing several facts related to the death are eerily like those of his sibling, Silas wants to discover if there could possibly be any link between the two cases. If so, then he might finally get come closure if this recent murder can be solved.

Being back in the state of Washington is tough on Silas, as so many bad memories resurface. As he tries to find any evidence about what happened to the girl, a local reporter is also looking for any clues. He sees Quinn Jackson as an individual who only thinks about getting a story, and while very motivated, she does try to be compassionate when gathering facts. Since their paths keep crossing, she wants them to exchange information. Though Silas does not trust reporters, he may get more answers working with the assertive woman than going it alone.

Except for when his brother was killed, the town where Silas grew up seems like the same peaceful place that he left long ago. Nothing much has changed, and many folks are still there doing the same things they always did. But his job has made him realize not everyone lets their personal secrets be known, so digging into the lives of people who appear innocent is something he must do, even if it causes resentment or suffering. I really felt for Silas when he had to obtain details from those who were hurting, as it affected him more than it seemed. Quinn does not like being told what to do, and she could blow up very quickly. But at least she could admit to being wrong, and I saw any faults as making her behavior lifelike. The relationship of this couple is often complex, as they are regularly at odds. Yet there is plenty of witty banter between them, and sexual desire is definitely genuine.

THE KILLER YOU KNOW is enthralling all the through. Any time something new is divulged in the story which connects to a murder, I was often stunned because I had not anticipated this particular fact as being true. Kimberly Van Meter scatters cleverly concealed clues throughout the story, and a few of them had me guessing the correct the answer while others only served to keep me baffled until the very end.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  February 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/gm7qtf4

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://kimberlyvanmeter.com/

Rating: 4 Stars

Any Time, Any Place by Jennifer Probst

Emotional conflicts in ANY TIME, ANY PLACE are so captivating that the next page just has to be read before stopping. While I thoroughly enjoyed the first novel in The Billionaire Builders series, the storyline of the second book is even more enthralling. Raven Hawthorne is hiding a huge secret, and I was very nervous over what would happen when the truth was revealed to Dalton Pierce. This need to discover how they would react compelled me to keep reading, and Jennifer Probst definitely did not let me down. Much realism at depicted all times, as the characters are honest, conversations are candid with often blunt frankness, and daily occurrences are conceivable. I smiled often, laughed occasionally, and was extremely anxious about the future of a couple facing lots of challenges. ANY TIME, ANY PLACE is emotionally rewarding because of a deep connection with the characters.

During her younger years, the father of Raven Bella Hawthorne was a man whom she respected. But her admiration turned to anger when he and a woman died in an automobile accident, as there was evidence that the two were leaving the country together. She was then raised by a relative, and Raven did her best to forget about the parent whose lies caused so much lingering pain as she grew into an adult. While she did not know Diane Pierce, she resents what the woman’s family said about her dad.

When Dalton Pierce came back to Connecticut to work with his two brothers in making Pierce Brothers Construction successful, the first year had been demanding. But now the outlook is much better for the company, and being able to build things with wood makes him very happy. A night relaxing at My Place has Dalton once again fantasizing about the owner of the bar, a woman who intrigues him but constantly ignores his attempts at conversation. He would very much like to restore the old wooden bar as its neglect calls to him, and is delighted when circumstances cause Raven to accept his request. While Dalton diligently works on the antique piece, she ponders whether to share the facts about their connected past.

History between two people often makes their association stronger, but sometimes an unpleasant event only pushes them apart. The fateful incident that forever changed the lives of Dalton and Raven still haunts them in the present, and my anxiety steadily grew because of concern over the significant impact of what she kept concealed from him would have on their relationship. While there are plenty of wonderful moments for them to cherish once they give in to their overwhelming desire, like blazingly hot encounters, there are also many unspoken issues that Dalton and Raven were trying to work out in their minds.  Jennifer Probst once again drew me into every situation affecting a couple for whom I greatly cared, and I lived the many highs and lows they went through right along with them.

ANY TIME, ANY PLACE is an extremely poignant romance, as every realistic moment is experienced to the fullest. Feelings are always sincere, and any responses are genuine plus backed with earnest emotions. There is also fun banter from time to time, especially when Dalton is speaking with his brothers. All the wonderful individuals who made the previous book in the series so entertaining are back, yet enough details are given to make this book understandable if read first.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  The Billionaire Builders – Book 2

Publisher:  Gallery

Releases:  January 24, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/jy7tdw2

Genre:  Contemporary

Author website:  http://www.jenniferprobst.com/

Rating:  5 Stars

Shielded by the Cowboy SEAL by Bonnie Vanak

In the second SOS Agency story, a woman who has been abused by her husband needs help, and the organization run by a good friend’s husband finds her a place to stay while making decisions about her future. This puts two people together that are seeking answers for different problems, and trust needs to be built between them or even more danger may come into her life. From the moment I started reading SHIELDED BY THE COWBOY SEAL, I was totally caught up in the many fascinating events happening to the two main characters, and each episode compelled me to keep reading in order to discover their next adventure. Bonnie Vanak has constructed an extremely gripping story of suspense, where the unexpected occurs without any warning.

Though her marriage had been bad for a long time, an incident made Meg Taylor realize she had to leave Florida and find a solution to the troubling issue that he had caused. After placing a call to a friend, she has arrived in a small town up north where she will be given a place to stay and hopefully will not be found by her rich soon to be ex-husband. Meg will be living on a farm which is owned by the family of Cooper Johnson, and the Navy SEAL will watch over her while home on leave. Although he recently lost his sister when the vest she was wearing did not keep her from being shot when answering a call about a disturbance, he is still willing to put his grief aside when a friend asks for his assistance.

After Cooper meets Meg, he gradually comprehends the woman once living a wealthy lifestyle is not really self-centered like he first thought. He also learns she knows some crucial facts that her husband does not want leaked. When more secrets are exposed, Cooper and Meg must decide on a workable solution, one which could perhaps aid them both.

SHIELDED BY THE COWBOY SEAL increases the suspense with one surprising twist after another. While a couple of developments seemed rather insignificant at the time, I came to understand they played a part in a much bigger scheme. Then there were the situations where a life was actually in danger, and I became very anxious because the outcome was questionable. Some reasons for any trouble are known while others are cleverly divulged as the story progresses. Just when I believed things were finally being figured out in my mind, some new detail was disclosed and I had to change the direction of my thoughts.

Bonnie Vanak has created a story packed with dangerous threats, and interwoven this peril with a very complicated romance. Cooper and Meg have suffered emotional heartache and personal losses, and it is hard for them to think better days will actually materialize. The situations in their lives are depicted with much realism, and I knew there were many obstacles that would keep them from ever being in a relationship unless they became more positive. Cooper is strong when others need him, yet the loss of his sister leaves him feeling like a part of him is missing. Meg has always tried to do what is right, but nothing ever seems to go as planned. The author puts the couple through a series of situations filled with honest reactions, heightened passion, and hopeful dreams before they can ever find lasting happiness.

I voluntarily reviewed the book and these comments are my honest opinion

Series:  SOS Agency

Publisher:  Harlequin Romantic Suspense

Releases:  February 1, 2017

Purchase:  http://tinyurl.com/ztuehxb

Genre:  Suspense

Author website:  http://www.bonnievanak.com/

Rating:  5 Stars